What I’m Thankful For by Rob Gulya

I’ve always thought of Thanksgiving as the school year’s half way point. Sure, the holiday comes a mere two and a half months into the 10 month marathon, but it’s a difficult two and a half months. People are settling into new roles and getting used to new students; classroom management routines are being created, then destroyed, then recreated; curriculum is still being written; the parking situation hasn’t quite worked itself out yet.

Because of how difficult it can be, it only makes the process of giving thanks that much more important. Research shows that expressing gratitude makes us feel better. Additionally, by reminding ourselves of all the people and things we have to be thankful for, we remind ourselves about how much we enjoy things in our lives.

In this spirit, here are some things I’m thankful for this year:

Google Classroom

One of the goals I have for this year is to use technology to more effectively engage students in learning. Google Classroom has helped immensely in that regard, as it’s simple and user-friendly. I’ve had students do everything from submit papers to have online discussions.

A strong network of fellow teachers

When the going gets tough, the tough….get a drink with a fellow educator. Having a network of like-minded educators who understand the struggle is huge. Having someone who understands how students and education systems work and can offer advice, or just sit back and listen.

Internet Memesfunny memes teachers

Because sometimes we all need a laugh (they’re great in powerpoints).

The mouse that lives in my classroom

Because sometimes Mr. T is the only one who keeps me company.

My Running Shoes

It’s necessary, in any occupation where you are constantly giving up yourself for others, to have something to take care of yourself so you can continue to be the best for your students. For me, running is how I take care of myself, physically and emotionally.

My Cat

God knows after a long day of work, coming home to this helps:

Displaying IMG_1063.JPG

My Students

For always pushing my in new ways. For sharing their stories and their dreams.For always challenging me to be better. I continuously learn from you.

Happy thanksgiving everyone!

Leave a Reply

